Woolorama Rural Ambassador

Wagin Agricultural Societies Rural Ambassador for 2022 Lucille Iles

We are pleased to announce our 2022 Woolorama Young Rural Ambassador Lucilee Iles.

Lucilee was born and bred and in Wagin.

"I was born and grew up in the small but amazing town of Wagin, also known as the town of the giant ram, Bart. The Wagin Woolorama has been a huge part of my life, with my nana and pop (Londa & Dave Iles) starting a shearing business in 1980 and passing it down to my mum and dad (Chris & Eve Iles) I have been involved with the shearing industry for years (it’s practically in my blood). Within all these years of running a successful and interesting business they also ran the shearing and wool handling competitions at the Woolorama for many years (so many I cannot keep count). Years down the track my Aunty and cousin (Koshie Iles & Londa Finlayson) decided they wanted to take over and run the Woolorama fashion show for a couple years and enjoyed every minute. Recently the Woolorama fashion show has been using local models and it has been more than successful and such a great idea to put forward. I have been part of the modelling for two years and will step down this year as I take on the Rural Ambassador role. Woolorama isn’t just an event to me, it is part of me and something I am honoured to be part of especially in 2022 as the Rural Ambassador"

With a positive outlook and hard working attitude Lucilee hopes to help continue helping Wagin through community support and inspiring the younger generation to help grow the community and maintain the foundation of the town.

Welcome and congratulations Lucilee!

Past and Present WAS Rural Ambassadors

2022 - Lucille Iles
2020 - 2021 - Kelly Gorter
2019 - Micheal McKenzie
2017 - Luke Hall
2016 - Kara Dohle
2015 - Chloe Radford
2014 - Sarah Bolt
2013 - Clare Ward
2012 - Dominique Hodge
2011 - Pip Gooding nee. Shields
2010 - Charis Parker nee. Patterson
2009 - Amy Stone nee. Spurr
2008 - Londa Finlayson nee. Heggarty
2007 - Crystal Gillam nee. McIvor
2006 - Andrew Scanlon
2005 - Natala King nee. Moffatt
2004 - Jane West
2003 - Sally Thomson
2002 - Emily Holt nee. Nelson
2001 - Melanie English nee. Davey
2000 - Jayde Mazurek